I have a start-up.

Well, it’s sort of a start-up.  More of a pre-start-up start-up really, but a start-up none the less.  It’s a very part time gig, but I have a novel (i.e. innovative!) product idea that I’m developing with a co-founder and we intend to bring it to market some time in the next 12 months or so.  The vehicle for that effort is “Smart Sensor Technologies” and the reason for that name will become clear in future posts.

The purpose of this particular post is to flag an intention to blog about my own, personal start-up journey with Smart Sensor Technologies.  The reason for this is that although I know a lot about a very small slice of innovation (I did a doctorate in the area, after all…) there’s a lot to know outside that small slice of innovation.  In an effort to improve the chances of my start-up succeeding, I’m trying to learn as much as I can about what goes on outside my slice, while also placing that learning within the context of what I already know.  I thought that others might be interested in that journey, as what happens to my initiative might be instructive to others.  Hopefully it’s not the learnings you get from the train-wreck kind of experience, but that would be useful too!

So I’ll interweave my start-up experiences with my other blogging to show what I’m learning and the lessons I’m drawing from the journey.  I’ll put that logo at the top of the page at the start of each start-up blog entry, and tag the posts with ‘start-up’ as well, so you can see the whole, unfolding journey in all its magnificent glory.

In discussing that journey, I’ll be a little evasive on exactly what the product actually is, at least until it’s advanced enough that we’ve got a firm launch date in mind.  Hopefully readers will understand the reluctance to not completely open the kimono at this stage of the game!

Given the nature of these posts, I would also invite comments from readers, as many of you will have experiences that are vastly different to mine, including many in the start-up space.  In that way, I can learn from you too.

So here we go.  An experiment in starting-up, as well as blogging about it.  Can’t wait to see where it goes!!!

Category:
Start-up
Tags:
, ,

Join the conversation! 3 Comments

  1. How exciting Tim! Good luck. I’ll be interested to follow your progress.

    ________________________________

    Reply
  2. All the best Tim, what an exciting period for you and your cofounder. I commend you on your wildness to share your journey with others and I look forward to reading all about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

